Nollywood Fails To Shine At Durban International Film Festival


    beats of the antonov main posterThe 36th edition of the Durban International Film Festival came to an end on Sunday, 26th of July, 2015, in Durban, South Africa, and Nigerian films and filmmakers were conspicuously missing from the list of winners at the event. Seven Nigerian films were screened at the event, but none of them went home with any award.

    The international jury this year was led by former manager of the DIFF and current Director of the Sydney Film Festival, Nashen Moodley, and included award-winning South African filmmaker Robbie Thorpe, South African producer of numerous award-winning films who sits on the advisory panel for NFVF, Moroba Nkawe and award-winning Nigerian filmmaker, Newton Aduaka.

    Beats of the Antonov– an astonishing war movie set in the Sudan that shows people coping with the atrocities of the situation via music and their attitude to life- went home with the award for best documentary, while Sunrise, directed by Partho Sen-Gupta went home with the award for best feature film.

    Check out the full list of winners below.

    Best Feature Film

    Sunrise – Partho Sen-Gupta.

    Best South African Feature Film

    Necktie Youth – Sibs Shongwe-La Mer

    Best Documentary

    Beats of the Antonov – Hajooj Kuka

    Best SA Documentary awards

    The Dream of the Shahrazad – Francois Verster,

    Best Actor Award

    Didier Michon

    Best Actress

    Anissa Daoud

    Best African Short Film

    The Aftermath of the Inauguration of the Public Toilet at Kilometre 375 – Omar el Zohairy

    Best South African Short Film

    Unomalanga and The Witch – Palesa Shongwe

    Production Merit Award

    Rights of Passage – Ntombizodwa Magagula, Mapula Sibanda, Lerato Moloi, Valencia Joshua, Zandile Angeline Wardle, Tony Miyambo, Rethabile Mothobi, Yashvir Bagwandeen.

    Best Screenplay Award

    Sabrina Compeyron

    Sugar Cane Shadows – David Constantin.

    Best Cinematography

    Sunrise – Partho Sen-Gupta.

    Special Mention for Direction was made of Kivu Ruhorahoza for Things Of The Aimless Wanderer‘.

    A Special Mention for Best Film was given to Tunisian Spring by Raja Amari.

    Special Mention for a Documentary was given to Democrats directed by Camilla Nielsson.

    Amnesty International Durban Human Rights Honorary Award was given to The Look of Silence directed by Joshua Oppenheimer.

    The 10-day festival saw 255 screenings at 13 venues around the city of Durban.