AMAA 2015 To Honour Oronto Douglas, Tony Elumelu, Others

amaa, amaa awards

Oronto DouglasThe organizers of the African Movie Academy Awards (AMAA) have announced through a press release that they would be honouring its jury members with special recognition awards. This, they said, is in appreciation of the work put in by the jury members in the last 11 years.

The jury members to be honoured are June Givanni, Asantewa Olatunji , Dorothee Wenner, Keith Shiri, Steve Ayorinde, Shaibu Husseini, Charles Burnett, Professor Hygnius Ekwuazi and Bernie Goldbatt.

Also due for recognition awards are the government of Bayelsa State and billionaire philanthropist, Mr. Tony Elumelu, and the MNET Africa Magic channels for their role in showcasing and investing in Africa’s creative industry through its African content channels in the last 10 years.

The 11th edition of the AMAAs which is set to take place this Friday in South Africa will also honour African filmmakers Horace Ovi, Harry Belafonte, Melvine Van Pebbles and Tony Verne for their impressive contributions over the years, while Oronto Douglas and Cofie Ammuako-Annan will be awarded with posthumous awards.